New Study Identifies Different Types Of Anxiety And Depression

Researchers at a Stanford-led study have identified five new categories that incorporate the current general diagnoses of anxiety and depression. 

The five new categories identify are anxious arousal, general anxiety, tension, anhedonia and melancholia. This classification is defined by symptoms and region and of brain activation. 

online psychiatrist: Psychiatry Concierge uses Online Services IDM for SEO and Social Media Marketing.

“We are breaking the symptom overlap in our classification, which can play a role in tailored treatment choices,” the researchers said. 

The research is currently carried out by Leanne Williams, PhD, professor of psychiatry and behavioral, in conjunction with other groups in the field of psychiatric neuroscience. The combined work will help provide better treatment plans for Americans who are having a hard time with these disorders. 

Currently, one of the leading causes of loss of productivity and disability around the world are anxiety and depression. Statistics show that only about 30% of patients recover from treatment. 

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders put in place the current definition of broad diagnostic categories. The drawback of this definition for the likes of anxiety and depression is that there are many overlapping symptoms that is almost impossible to pinpoint biological markers for potential treatments or cures for these diseases. 

“Currently, the treatments are very similar for anyone in these broad categories,” Williams said. “By creating a proper definition of the diagnosis, adequate treatment options can be prescribed.”

For this work, data from around 400 participants with healthy diagnoses and multiple anxiety and depression diagnoses were collected. The participants were part of a number of tests that involved brain mapping, self reporting of symptoms, and psychiatric diagnostic testing. The researched looked how the participants functioned in their daily life, ability to build social relationships, and their approach to every day life. 

The same tests was done on a different set of 381 individuals. Following a comprehensive data-driven approach, researchers were able to identify the same five new categories across both groups. 

According to the results 19 percent of participants were characterized by tension, 13 percent by anxious arousal, 9 percent by melancholia, 9 percent by general anxiety and 7 percent by anhedonia. 

“The other participants who did not meet the diagnostic criteria, were still experiencing some level symptoms of tension,” said Katherine Grisanzio, lead author of the study. 


The researchers described the new categories 

Tension: Characterized by irritability. Individuals in this category are sensitive. Anxiety makes the nervous system extra sensitive. 

Anxious Arousal: Cognitive functioning is impaired. The person has difficulty in reasoning, focusing, and concentrating. 

Melancholia: People have difficulty with social functions and social interactions. 

Anhedonia: The inability to feel pleasure. This is often a hidden type of depression. They are quite numb to pleasure and its traits. 

General anxiety: It involves worry, and anxious arousal. 

your smile perfect.

Related posts

What Is an Intensive Outpatient Program (IOP)? Understanding the Continuum of Care

An Intensive Outpatient Program (IOP) is a specialized form of addiction treatment that offers…
Read more

Addiction Treatment for Healthcare Workers: Understanding the Unique Challenges Faced by Healthcare Workers

Healthcare workers, including doctors, nurses, and other medical professionals, play a crucial role…
Read more

Beyond Detox: Nurturing Long-Term Sobriety with Aftercare and Alumni Programs

Detox is just the first step on the long road to recovery. Sustaining long-term sobriety requires…
Read more
Become a Trendsetter
Sign up for Tric kingz Daily Digest and get the best of Tric kingz, tailored for you. [mc4wp_form id="1770"]

Leave a Reply